Service Magic/Home Advisor Leads

Discussion in 'Offline Marketing' started by SamStewart1979, Nov 27, 2012.

SamStewart1979

SamStewart1979 Member

Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Sam Stewart
    Business Location:
    United States
    I've been hearing alot about Service Magic (now known as Home Advisor) on the radio here in Birmingham, Alabama. I called them and the usual price is $15-$20 per lead. It costs $49 to do a background check and get on their list. Are these leads quality or are they usually bad? I'm new at this and still working a full-time job, but I'm trying to build the business enough to go full-time with it. Any other suggestions for getting business on a budget?

Thanks!!
    DisasterSEO

DisasterSEO Member

Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    Lauren Shapiro
    ServiceMagic is one of the lead gen companies, and probably the cheapest. You also have LeadsByFone, which is a little more expensive but produces higher quality leads. Then you have RestorationSOS, which doesn't charge you per lead, but will charge you a pretty hefty percentage of the jobs that you get.

The real beef I hear about the first 2 is that the leads aren't exclusive, so often people pay for leads that don't amount to jobs. But I hear mixed reviews. I've got some clients that still use them. These can serve as a band-aid fix for quick cash, if they pan out. Lead gen companies can certainly be incorporated as part of your new business development, but you shouldn't rely on them to bring you business.
    Hygienic Cleaning Services

Hygienic Cleaning Services New Member

Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Oleg POzdniakov